Undergraduate Program

Undergraduate Program of Faculty of Dirasat Islamiyas UIN Syarif Hidayatullah Jakarta

Department of Dirasat Islamiyah (DDI), Faculty of Dirasat Islamiyah, Syarif Hidayatullah State Islamic University uses curriculum adopted from the Faculty of Dirasat Islamiyah Al-Azhar Univerity of Cairo, Egypt which is integrated with local wisdom and needs that inspires a vision on Indonesian Islam (Islam Keindonesiaan) and modern Islam (Islam Kemodernan). DDI uses Arabic Language as learning instruction, including student’s final research assignment. DDI requires all students to memorize 8 juz/parts of al-Quran; every student must memorize 1 Juz/part of the Quran per semester.

The DDI offers general and comprehensive Islamic Studies in first 3 years/6 semesters, and offers the specialization in the forth year (in 7th and 8th semester). The students select any one of the three specializations, namely;

  1. Specialization on Ilmu Ushuluddin (Theology Sciences)
  2. Specialization on Ilmu Syariah (Jurisprudence Sciences)
  3. Specialization on Ilmu Bahasa dan Sastera Arab (Arabic Linguistic and literature Sciences).

Package of specialization is determined by interest of a student and evaluation learning results in the previous semesters. Bachelor of Dirasat Islamiyah offers 154 credit points, which has to be completed by the students within 4 year/8 semesters of a maximum of 8 years/14 semesters. The 154 credit points are divided into 41 credit points for basic courses, 78 credit points for intermediate courses, 17 credit points for every specialization program, and 18 credit points for supporting courses.